Highland Fling

‘Strive endlessly to stir the venturesome spirit.’

So said Wally Byam, founder of Airstream travel trailers in 1929. For me a few days with my wife and our dog in our campervan goes some way to stirring the adventuresome spirit, and last summer we made several excursions to the area around Loch Lomond and Oban in the west of Scotland. We couldn’t help but be enchanted by the place; the serene calm of early morning mist on the mountains, the slow rise and fall of the tide in a still sea loch. I was inspired to record a few of my impressions in sketch books, and now I’ve had time to review them I can see the potential for a series of paintings.

JPEG for web

Our campervan in a secluded spot.

I’ve set myself the goal of trying to recreate the ethereal, other-worldly sense of calm I felt in the mountains, where the physical details of the landscape are less important than the captivating atmosphere.

Cuil Bay, acrylic, 30 x 25cm (about 12 x 10in):

Cuil Bay

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

